Driver Education Program
Register for Maryland’s 36 Hour GLS Program
Enroll In Maryland’s Driving Program with Admiral Driving School
Admiral Driving School in Silver Spring, Maryland is proud to offer our 36 hour GLS (Graduated Licensing System) program, as required by the state of Maryland. Once you successfully complete this course at our driving school, you become eligible to obtain a provisional driver’s license in Maryland. You may have some questions about the program, and Admiral is here to help! Below are some answers to our most frequently asked questions.
WHY CHOOSE ADMIRAL DRIVING SCHOOL FOR DRIVERS EDUCATION
Courses are taught by MVA-certified instructors
Behind-the-wheel driver training included
Flexible and convenient course schedules
Various topics are covered in our drivers education courses
A safe and effective way to get your drivers education started
Extremely affordable compared to other driving schools
Become a First-Time Licensed Maryland Driver
Admiral Driving School takes pride in providing a safe and structured learning environment for new drivers. Our friendly and experienced course instructors will equip you with the necessary skills and knowledge for successfully navigating both the roads and the rules, situations, and driving conditions of the modern-day world.
To register and enroll in our 36-hour GSL driver’s education course, you must be at least 15 years of age, and you must be at least 15 years and 9 months to obtain a learner’s permit. When you receive your learner’s permit, you will be able to schedule your behind-the-wheel driving instruction.
What To Expect From Your Drivers Education Course
Our comprehensive driving school courses are designed to ensure that new drivers are equipped with the knowledge and skills to be smarter and safer on the roads. Each GSL driving education program covers the information and topics you need to succeed and is led by the experienced, MVA-certified driving instructors.
Our program consists of several modules. Once complete, participants will be required to take the final exam, and once the final exam is completed and passed, participants receive the necessary documentation required by the MVA to receive their Maryland driver's license.
We’re Waiting For Your Call
Feel free to call us at (301) 460-8100. We’ll be glad to help!
Traffic Control Devices and Roadway Signs
Understanding the GLS
New Laws or Changes in the Law
Important Statistical Information
Basic Vehicle Maneuvering
knowledge of Pavement Markings
Rules for Following Distance
Dangers of Distracted Driving
Hazardous Driving Conditions
(fog, snow, rain, glare, etc.)
Alcohol and the Dangers it Creates for Drivers
And Much, Much More
Frequently Asked Questions
Am I required to take Driver's Ed?
Yes – in Maryland, the law requires everyone to complete an MVA-certified Driver’s Education course in order to obtain a new driver’s license. This rule applies to all Maryland residents, regardless of age.
What happens if I miss a day of class, or if I can't attend a day?
No problem! You can arrange to make up the day that you missed during a later class. All students must attend the first day of class.
How much does the class cost?
The base price for our New Drivers 36 hour GLS program is $350 for both weekday and weekend classes. There is an additional $45 fee for our Extra Hour Behind the Wheel Instruction. If you require an MVA Road Test Escort, there is a fee as well (call ahead for specials).
How do I register and pay for the class?
First, you can download our application form and fill it out to register. You can bring the form with you in person before starting your driving class. For payment, you may bring the payment with you on the first day of class. Admiral Driving School in Silver Spring accepts cash, checks, and credit cards.
Do I need a learner's permit to take the Driver's Ed class?
You actually are not required to have a learner’s permit to take our class. Many students at our Driving School in Silver Spring start our class as early as the age of fifteen. Many students have found that taking our driving education classes first helps them pass the MVA learner’s permit test later when they apply for a permit. (You can apply for a learner’s permit at the age of 15 and 9 months). Students can take advantage of the classroom portion of our course without a learner’s permit and then return for on-the-road training once they’ve been issued a learner’s permit by the state of Maryland.
What are the class locations, dates, and times?
Contact us to find a date and time that’s convenient for you. The address for Admiral Driving School is 2277 Bel Pre Road, Suite 205, Silver Spring, MD 20906. Our hours for driving instruction typically take place Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 8 PM and Saturday and Sundays from 8 AM to 2 PM.
What do I need to bring to class?
On the first day of class, you’ll need to bring the following items: - Identification: either a learner’s permit, birth certificate, or passport. - Tuition payment for the course (in the form of cash, check or credit card) - A pen and notebook to take notes
Contact Admiral Driving School Today
The road to becoming a better and safer driver starts with professional instruction from the driving instructors at Admiral Driving Academy. Fill out the form below to learn more about the range of driver education courses that we offer.