Online Driver Education Program
Temporarily Authorized by MVA | 30 hrs online classes
Online Drivers Education Program at Driving School in Silver Spring, Rockville, Maryland
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration has temporarily authorized the classroom portion of our Drivers Education course to be taught online, using a virtual classroom format with a live instructor. After you finish your online course you can call the office to schedule the six (6) hours behind the wheel portion of the program.
The online course is conducted using the popular NewRow video conferencing service. The NewRow platform is compatible with the majority of computers and mobile devices in use today.
To participate in the online classroom portion of the course, MVA requires you to use a device with a web camera or built-in camera so that the teacher can verify each student’s presence and participation in class.
For example, you can use a computer with a camera attached, or you can use a laptop, tablet, or phone with a built-in camera.
You must be at least 15 years of age to begin driver's education (you can only do classroom instruction). You must be 15 years and 9 months to obtain your learner’s permit. Once you have your learners permit you can do your behind-the-wheel instruction.
- October 19 – October 30
- November 2 – November 13
November 16 – November 27
- November 30 – December 11
- December 14- December 25
- December 28 – Jan 8 2021
We’re Waiting For Your Call
Feel free to call us at (301) 460-8100. We’ll be glad to help!
Traffic Control Devices and Roadway Signs
Understanding the GLS
New Laws or Changes in the Law
Important Statistical Information
Basic Vehicle Maneuvering
knowledge of Pavement Markings
Rules for Following Distance
Dangers of Distracted Driving
Hazardous Driving Conditions
(fog, snow, rain, glare, etc.)
Alcohol and the Dangers it Creates for Drivers
And Much, Much More
Frequently Asked Questions
Am I required to take Driver's Ed?
Yes – in Maryland, the law requires everyone to complete an MVA-certified Driver’s Education course in order to obtain a new driver’s license. This rule applies to all Maryland residents, regardless of age.
What happens if I miss a day of class, or if I can't attend a day?
No problem! You can arrange to make up the day that you missed during a later class. All students must attend the first day of class.
How much does the class cost?
The base price for our New Drivers 36 hour GLS program is $350 for both weekday and weekend classes. There is an additional $45 fee for our Extra Hour Behind the Wheel Instruction. If you require an MVA Road Test Escort, there is a fee as well (call ahead for specials).
How do I register and pay for the class?
First, you can download our application form and fill it out to register. You can bring the form with you in person before starting your driving class. For payment, you may bring the payment with you on the first day of class. Admiral Driving School in Silver Spring accepts cash, checks, and credit cards.
Do I need a learner's permit to take the Driver's Ed class?
You actually are not required to have a learner’s permit to take our class. Many students at our Driving School in Silver Spring start our class as early as the age of fifteen. Many students have found that taking our driving education classes first helps them pass the MVA learner’s permit test later when they apply for a permit. (You can apply for a learner’s permit at the age of 15 and 9 months). Students can take advantage of the classroom portion of our course without a learner’s permit and then return for on-the-road training once they’ve been issued a learner’s permit by the state of Maryland.
What are the class locations, dates, and times?
Contact us to find a date and time that’s convenient for you. The address for Admiral Driving School is 2277 Bel Pre Road, Suite 205, Silver Spring, MD 20906. Our hours for driving instruction typically take place Monday through Friday from 8 AM to 8 PM and Saturday and Sundays from 8 AM to 2 PM.
What do I need to bring to class?
On the first day of class, you’ll need to bring the following items: - Identification: either a learner’s permit, birth certificate, or passport. - Tuition payment for the course (in the form of cash, check or credit card) - A pen and notebook to take notes